London Instant Booking
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  4.0
 Rooms  3.8
 Cleanliness  4.0
 Location  4.0
 Security & Safety  4.2
 Service & Staff  4.2
 Food / Dining  3.5
 Total  4.0

"Do not stay here"

User Rating:  1.3
Reviewer:   A O. of Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed:   January 2, 2012  (see hotel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   December 2011     Type:   Large Group
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I would advise anyone looking for accommodation in Belfast to avoid this hostel at all costs. While the rooms and location were fine,the appalling treatment that my party and I experienced at the hands of the hostel owner rendered these aspects redundant.

I have never been spoken to in such an abusive, disrespectful and condescending manner by anyone. He made both racist and sexist remarks towards me, persisted in addressing me as "sweetie" and "little girl" despite requests to desist, swore profusely,and locked two of our party outside in their pyjamas following an alleged
incident which he refused to review on CCTV.

In the end, we had to call the police. In the presence of the police, this man attempted to steal one of our passports, claiming never to have seen when we requested for it to
be returned when we were leaving. To our great relief,the police were able to manage this situation. He even had the audacity to attempt to return a copy of a different passport when the police requested he give this back to us also. This man threw all of us out after the alleged "incident" even though 3 of us had not been present at the time. We had to spend the rest of the night in the car.

After throwing a group of 5 women out into the street,2 of whom were barefoot and in their pyjamas,we refused to pay this man a penny. He did,however, steal the deposit we had placed on the room keys. I can honestly say that I have never met with such obnoxious and ignorant behaviour. I am a professional therapist and am working full time in that capacity, and am still reeling that I have been spoken to in such a derogatory manner as I was by someone who also called themselves "professional"

"Value for money"

User Rating:  3.7
Reviewer:   ADESH G. of Stoke-on-trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed:   December 22, 2011  (see hotel reviews from Eurohosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   December 2011     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Lagan Backpackers is a good value for money hostel for travellers.

"Cheers"

User Rating:  4.5
Reviewer:   The Mature Traveller L. of liverpool, United States
Reviewed:   March 22, 2010  (see hotel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   March 2010     Type:   Large Group
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We were a group of five 40+ women who who booked into the Lagan Hostel - Althought two of use bailed out and booked into hotel - the three that remained had a wonderful time.

William (owner) looked after us really well - breakfast was great, convesation was good - and although we did not get chance to sample his whisky - we know that the other guests really appriciated it - especially the those travelling on their own - as they got to chat and have night out with others in the hostel.

O yes cant forget to mention David - the black cab tour driver - he was fantastic - his knowledge of the history of his city was impressive - and he presented the background to the current situation in Ireland in such an informative and unbiase way .

Thanks William - and good luck with your next venture - hope we will see you on one of the boat tours!

"Great stay!!"

User Rating:  4.9
Reviewer:   Amanda K. of Pittsburg, United States
Reviewed:   March 26, 2009  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   March 2009     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The hostel is lovely, the staff helpfull and owner a nice guy. Was a pleasure staying at Lagan Hostel

"Great place"

User Rating:  4.9
Reviewer:   Brian S. of London, England
Reviewed:   March 16, 2009  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   March 2009     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Comfortable beds. Amazing staff and great tours all booked for me. Real nice place

"Great hostel with an amazing room"

User Rating:  4.7
Reviewer:   Martin C. of Sydney, Australia
Reviewed:   March 13, 2009  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   March 2009     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Booked a double room and did not expact to much from a backpackers but have to admit i was amazed. The Double room was hugh, comfortable and a great bed for a good nights sleep.
The owner guy was amazing as well. He really knows his stuff. Great reccommendations. And a good guy over all.

This is a great hostel


1 - 6 of 6 reviews




LondonInstantBooking Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hotel Reviews  |   Write a Hotel Review  |   Suggest Hotels  |   Search Hotels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hotel  |   Link to Us