London Instant Booking
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  1.8
 Rooms  1.5
 Cleanliness  1.3
 Location  2.7
 Security & Safety  1.6
 Service & Staff  1.7
 Food / Dining  1.4
 Total  1.8

"4th-9th April 2008"

User Rating:  2.6
Reviewer:   Santos L. of Sydney, Australia
Reviewed:   May 13, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   April 2008     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I wasn't happy with my stay at Dumil Hostel because it was dirty and stink , the other shower doesn't work and the toilet doesn't flush properly although the property was sold out and needs to be refurbished but it shouldn't be let for the hostel. the staff is quiet friendly.

"IT IS HORRIBLE"

User Rating:  1.9
Reviewer:   LH B. of Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed:   January 27, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   January 2008     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I did not even saty in the hostel, it stinked horribly and when I arrived a very unpolite person in the reception was very rude to me. I did not even bother staying there.

"About the Dummil Hostel"

User Rating:  2.2
Reviewer:   Leonardo S. of Roi de Janeiro, Brazil
Reviewed:   January 8, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   March 2007     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
They tried to host us well but in fact we could see that it was a messy, the hole place was not cleaned at all and the place looked more like a house for the imigrant then a hostel as i was habituated.

"be careful - at your own risk"

User Rating:  1.3
Reviewer:   Joe M. of New York, United States
Reviewed:   January 7, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Hostelearth.com)
Traveled:   August 2007     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I arrived at this well located hostel at noon. The receptionist was polite and took my money without giving a receipt. He informed me the room was being cleaned and would be ready by 2 pm. By 10 PM I had no sheets, no blanket and the room was dirty. The hostel was room for 55 people. Currently 15 are homeless and drug addicts housed by the local council. There is only one shower and one toilet for the entire hostel. There are no fire extinguishers and no central heating. The evening receptionist was rude so I called the police. This hostel now has a fine for inadequate fire facilities and is under investigation for fraudulent advertising.

"Dumil Hostel, London, England"

User Rating:  1.5
Reviewer:   Stephan H. of Berlin, Germany
Reviewed:   January 1, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Eurohosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   October 2007     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
While travelling in other parts of the world (mainly south east asia and africa) I've seen a lot of hostels - really nice ones, and less nice ones. But this hostel in central London is the worst place I've ever been to.
1. The rooms: They are dark and dirty, and there are no keys (i.e. the door to your room is open 24/7).
2. The restroom: Yes, that's singular. There is ONE restroom for the whole hostel, and it certainly hasn't been cleaned over the last week.
3. Service: When I arrived there were still the bedsheet of the person before me on my bed. The reception counter should actually be open 24h, but even during the day it's a matter of luck if you find someone there or not.
4. Breakfast included: Hmm, that's a joke. If you're lucky you can grab a more or less clean plate from the sink, avoid the butter on which some little black bugs are feasting, and treat yourself with some jam on a dry white bread. Or you skip it and go for Subways...
5. Cleanliness: See rooms and restroom.
6. Location: Well, that's really not too bad. Okay, the last subway goes there at 23:45, but it's actually not that far from the city centre.
7. Price: It's cheap, that's for sure.

I definitely can't recommend it. Spend some more bucks and go somewhere else.

"the worst hostel."

User Rating:  1.2
Reviewer:   Anna G. of andorra, Andorra
Reviewed:   December 10, 2007  (see hotel reviews from Eurohosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   December 2007     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
dirty, broken windows, broken and noisy beds, sheets with holes... we had to look for another one!

"Terribile ostello copertura spaccio..Da DENUNCIA!!!"

User Rating:  1.2
Reviewer:   Luca S. of Napoli, Italy
Reviewed:   November 10, 2007  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   October 2007     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (Italiano-Italian):
Ragazzi è un esperienza terribile da non ripetere!!!Non so come sia ancora aperto quell'ostello essendo solo una copertura per uno spaccio di droga...E non pensate minimamente a stupidaggini...è davvero pericoloso...vi assicuro che tra barboni prostitute spacciatori e pazzi la notte si deve arrivare a contare un paio di migliaia di pecorelle prima di chiudere occhio...ed essendo tutte camerate, può arrivare a qualsiasi orario gente poco raccomandabile(a me è capitato alle 2 di notte).Ultima notte ho preferito passarla in areoporto, visto uno sfoggio di coltelli tra proprietari e compratori(immaginate di cosa)poco soddisfatti..NON ANDATE Lì,piuttosto DORMITE PER STRADA!!!Deluso per la presenza di questo ostello su questo sito!!!!NON FAVORITELO MA DENUNCIATELO!!!!!

"Hostel Dumil needs a health and saftey inspection."

User Rating:  1.3
Reviewer:   Elenor R. of Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed:   November 10, 2007  (see hotel reviews from Hostelearth.com)
Traveled:   November 2007     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
where do i begin? our room didnt lock because the previous tennet had busted the door. the free breakfast included was bread, tea and coffee, with only one fork and a plasitic spoon. other tennents used their fingers to butter their toast in the morning which wasnt the nicest thing to start your day with. there was a broken tile at the top of the staircase that never was repaired, the toilets has cigarette butts and ash in every shower and there was alway fresh urine on every toilet seat and around it. one of what seemed to be several staff members told us their was at least 10 bathrooms in the building. he lied. there was only 3. one of which didnt have a light. the odour and untidyness of the overall building was not mentioned on the website. i asked if the bathrooms ever got cleaned, they never did. although there was one of the staff on his hands and knees using the head of a mop, washing the floors with bleach. i guess we shouldve been greatful for that. although it was rather cheap we still expected some basic hygiene standards and security for our belongings.

"STAY AWAY FROM HERE"

User Rating:  1.7
Reviewer:   Fergie C. of istanbul, United States
Reviewed:   September 2, 2007  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   September 2007     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Dont even think about staying at this hostel !!! I had to stay there for 6 nights and it was a disaster! when I first got into a room , I FELT REALLY SICK could not help vomiting(really). There was a terrible smell and there were so much rubbish on the floor!
The stuff was only good thing about this hostel, they were helpful and tried to do their best!!
The breakfast was only bread and jam..(if you dare to eat them)
NEVER GO THERE , unless you have no other choice and you will only go there sleep at nights !!(but again never, never, never)

"Dumil Hostel Review"

User Rating:  1.4
Reviewer:   Minke D. of Houten, Netherlands
Reviewed:   August 31, 2007  (see hotel reviews from Eurohosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   July 2007     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
It is terrible! Dirty! Never go there! There are other places just as cheap! This is not a joke. I have been staying there for 5 nights in a dirty room with drinking, smoking and snoring people. There is no real breakfast only a filthy kitchen.


1 - 10 of 38 reviews  Next 10 results




LondonInstantBooking Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hotel Reviews  |   Write a Hotel Review  |   Suggest Hotels  |   Search Hotels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hotel  |   Link to Us